Audio Review: Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson


May Contain Spoilers

I have been on a sports kick recently. I’ve been reading sports manga, and when I saw some hockey romances available using my Audible Romance Package, I hastily downloaded them. Kelly Jamieson is an author that I have read and enjoyed before, so I was happy to see her Aces hockey novels on Audible.


When Lovey Armstrong shows up on at her brother’s door, looking for a place to stay until she can get back on her feet, she doesn’t receive the warmest welcome. Duncan plays for the Chicago Aces, and he isn’t thrilled to see his younger sister and her luggage. He and his roommate, Marc Dupuis, like having privacy in their bachelor pad, and having Lovey there is going to be a major inconvenience. But what Lovey wants, Lovey gets, so he reluctantly agrees to let her stay until she can find a place of her own.

What Lovey wants is Marc, but Marc is resistant to her advances. The players on the team have an agreement that sisters are off-limits. But Lovey’s bubbly personality wins him over, and before he knows it, Marc and Lovey are having a secret affair. Marc is afraid of how it will impact his friendship, and the team dynamics, if Duncan finds out, but he’s in too deep to back out now. The only problem is that Lovey is only looking for a good time, and the relationship wary young woman doesn’t want anything permanent. 

This is a fun listen – the story is fluffy and light, and translated well to audio. The narrator did a great job with the voices and the tone of the story.   I really liked Marc. He was my favorite character. Marc is a serious guy, and he desperately needs to loosen up a bit. The team captain, Marc stresses when the guys don’t play well, and about their not so stellar record this year. He doesn’t need the distraction from Lovey – or does he? I think that Lovey’s zest for life rubbed off on Marc, and gave him a new outlook on both himself and hockey.

Lovey was a bit of a flake. She quit a good job in Wisconsin and dumped her much older boyfriend because he wanted to get married and have kids. Lovey doesn’t have much self-confidence when it comes to her own accomplishments, because she always felt overshadowed by Duncan when she was growing up. Everyone knew he was going to make it in pros, and her parents devoted most of their parenting time to Duncan and his hockey, dragging Lovey from one ice arena to the next to watch his games. I thought that it took forever for Lovey to grow up, and she only did it after learning that she hurt Marc. Gah! I wanted to shake her and snap at her to get her act together.

Duncan got on my last nerve. I could not stand this guy, which will be an issue when I get to his book. What a jerk! No wonder Lovey had self-confidence issues. He minimized every one of her successes. Ugh. What a douche.

This romance did feature one of my least favorite tropes –the secret affair. I think the only reason I was able to deal with it was because Duncan was such a jerk, and he never would have been supportive if Marc and Lovey dated openly.

I enjoyed this book, and I’m looking forward to learning more about the other Aces players.

Grade: 3.75 stars

Review copy borrowed from my local library

About the book:

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.
As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.
Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.