Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

Novella Review: The Great Bazaar & Brayan’s Gold by Peter V Brett

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

I had fond memories of The Warded Man when I saw this novella.  It was one of the first fantasy galleys that I ever received, and I was looking for a fix while I was waiting (forever!) for the next installment of GRRM’s Song of Ice and Fire.  I gobbled up The Warded Man, finding it innovative, engaging, and oh-so-hard to put down.  Then I held off on reading The Desert Spear because I was still stinging over the wait for GRRM’s book, and I decided at that time to not read series until most of the books were released.  Lately I have broken that rule, but I’m not as anal about finishing what I started as I used to be.  Now, if it crosses my path, and I have the time to read it, I will, regardless of where it is in the longer series. The only series I won’t break the rule for is Song of Ice and Fire; they are just too long, the waits are interminable, and I can’t remember what happened from book to book.

Read more

#Zombies! Novella Review: Please Remain Calm by Courtney Summers

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

Please Remain Calm picks up right where This is Not a Test left off, but from Rhys’ POV.  At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about that, but I actually liked his narration better than Sloane’s.  Rhys is a straight forward kind of guy, and while he is torn up over what he had to do to his parents on the first awful night of the zombie apocalypse, he has done a fairly good job of moving past the ordeal.  While he does suffer from nightmares, he counts himself lucky to be alive, and he is determined to stay that way, so that his parents’ deaths will mean something.  Unlike Sloane, he is not suicidal, and he strives to find some sort of normal in the new horror of his existence.

Read more

Novella Review: Riskier Business by Tessa Bailey

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

If Riskier Business hadn’t popped up on my recommendations page on Amazon, I would have missed out on Tessa Bailey’s latest novella.  I’ve read almost everything she’s written, so I was eager to see what Ruby and Troy have been up to since His Risk to Take.  That one click button is so convenient, and in just a few seconds, I was reading away.

Read more

Novella Review: Can’t Wait by Jennifer Ryan

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

Kicking off the holiday reading season, I picked up Can’t Wait by Jennifer Ryan because I liked the cover and because it has one of my favorite tropes.  I can’t get enough stories with the heroine falling for her brother’s best friend.  The setting didn’t hurt either; all of the action takes place on a ranch in Montana.  While Montana would not be my first choice if I were to ever relocate (the winters last forever!), the whole ranch thing is so appealing to me that it makes me giddy.  Working with and around horses all day long seems so much better than herding IT professionals on a daily basis.

Read more