Spotlight and Giveaway: Ruined by Tracy Wolff

RUINED: An Ethan Frost Novel by Tracy Wolff


On sale January 7, 2014


Fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Bared to You, and Release Me will be hooked on Ruined, an electrifying journey of emotional and sexual discovery that pushes two damaged souls to their breaking point—and beyond.

He’s the last man Chloe Girard should love . . . but the first she ever could.

Read more

Review: Star-Spangled Bride by Iris Johansen

Star-Spangled Bride: A Loveswept Classic Contemporary Romance

May Contain Spoilers


While surfing the virtual shelves of the library, I came across this blast from the past.  Many moons ago, I devoured Loveswept romances like candy.  Some of my favorite series romance authors were published under this line; Janet Evanovich, Saundra Brown, Jennifer Crusie (I will NOT admit how much I paid for a few of her out of print  titles before they were available digitally), Kay Hooper.  I get giddy just thinking about how much I loved discovering these authors.  One of my favorite reads were Iris Johansen’s Sedikhan books.  I loved how the characters popped up throughout the books, and this was one of the first times I read books that had connecting characters.  I was only able to gobble a few of these up before I got distracted from my out of print book hunt (which is SO much easier now thanks to Google, Amazon, and eBay!)  When I saw that Star-Spangled Bride had been reissued in digital, and that it was available for check out, I snapped it up and ate it up.

Read more

Novella Review: After Midnight by Serena Bell


May Contain Spoilers


After Midnight was my favorite novella in the Heating Up the Holidays anthology.  It’s a sexy story with relatable characters that you want to find their HEA.  Both Miles and Nora are at the lowest point in their lives when they meet at a party on New Year’s Eve.  Their attraction is instant and combustible, but events separate them before they have a chance to swap their names, let alone their phone numbers.  Both are on the rebound, and Miles is under the threat of a criminal investigation, so both think that, perhaps, it’s for the best that they didn’t hook up.

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway–Crazy for You by Juliet Rosetti

Today I have a spotlight and giveaway for Juliet Rosetti’s Love on the Lam series.  Check out the excerpt and enter the giveaway below!



The Escape Diaries: Life and Love on the Lam [reissue] By Juliet Rosetti

Published by Loveswept

ISBN: 978-0-345-53431-6

Find The Escape Diaries on Goodreads

Introducing the hilarious new heroine, Mazie Maguire, in Juliet Rosetti’s irresistible debut novel that follows the outrageous adventure of a woman on the run.

Read more

Excerpt and Giveaway-Love the One You’re With by Lauren Layne

Today I have an excerpt from Love the One You’re With, Lauren Layne’s latest Loveswept release.  Check it out, then enter the giveaway!

Love the One You’re With: Sex, Love & Stiletto Series By Lauren Layne

Published by Loveswept

ISBN: 978-0-345-54726-2

Find LOVE THE ONE YOU’RE WITH on Goodreads

Lauren Layne’s Sex, Love & Stiletto series simmers to a boil as two high-powered magazine writers find love amid a war of words.

Read more

Novella Review: Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers

May Contain Spoilers


I am very torn about this story.  At first I just wasn’t engaging with Jenny and her cybersex sessions with C, a talented macro photographer she connects with online.  She’s a recent transplant to Ohio, where she works as a researcher at the university.  C also works there, and at one time he lived in her apartment.  She doesn’t want to ever meet him, and she’s comfortable with her current routine of working, then getting home and whooping in it up with C online.  Meh.

But as the reasons for her reclusive behavior emerge, I was all over the book.  Jenny has been diagnosed with a degenerative eye disorder, and she will eventually lose her vision.  It is slowly closing in on her, and she has already lost most of her peripheral vision.  Her dream has always been to study microorganisms under a powerful microscope, and the prospect of not being able to fulfill her dreams, and the fear of becoming dependent on others is eating away at her.  She is hostile with her occupational therapist, and gives him nothing but resistance during their weekly therapy sessions. 

There are moments of overwhelming emotions in Snowfall.  Though it took me a bit to become immersed in the story, once I was it was hard to put down.  I felt so much empathy for Jenny; the prospect of slowly being rendered blind is terrifying.  Her anger and grief were palpable.  And through her emotional turmoil, Evan remained steadfast, frustrated with himself for not being able to reach through her wall of resistance.   I enjoyed the slow development of their romance, and how intense it burned after Evan resigned as her therapist because of professional conflicts and because he couldn’t deny his feelings for the “fiercely intelligent” Jenny.  If there is a happy ending to Jenny’s condition, it’s that she no longer had to worry about facing her difficult future alone.  I know that between Evan’s sheltering love and Jenny’s inability to give up, her future will remain bright.

Grade:  B/B+

Review copy provided by publisher

From Amazon:

As leftover turkey and stuffing give way to stockings and little black dresses, this tantalizingly sexy eBook bundle offers up holiday-themed novellas from a trio of beloved romance authors. Lisa Renee Jones gives a dedicated reporter and a powerful businessman a chance to count their Thanksgiving blessings in Play with Me; Mary Ann Rivers presents Snowfall, the story of a woman who confronts a life-changing event—hopefully with a special man by her side—just in time for Christmas; and in Serena Bell’s After Midnight, an explosive New Year’s kiss leaves two strangers wondering whether they’ll ever see each other again.

PLAY WITH ME by Lisa Renee Jones
Kali Miller has spent three years reporting fluff stories, waiting for the article that will launch her career to new heights. When she suddenly finds herself forced to take a job as an executive secretary at a Vegas casino, Kali meets the subject of what will surely be a shocking exposé: her boss, Damion Ward, the arrogant and undeniably sexy CEO. But after Damion invites her to help him plan a Thanksgiving charity event, Kali begins to see another side of the man. And when she surrenders to the exhilarating tension simmering between them, Kali hopes her story will have a happy ending.

SNOWFALL by Mary Ann Rivers
Jenny Wright can’t get enough of her erotic conversations with someone she knows only as “C.” Flirting online helps Jenny temporarily escape confronting the changes to her life as she slowly loses her vision. Jenny’s occupational therapist, Evan Carlisle-Ford, is helping her prepare for the challenges ahead, but the forthright, trustworthy man can no longer ignore his growing attraction to his fiercely intelligent client. Now Jenny must choose between the safe, anonymous “C”—or the flesh-and-blood Evan, whose heated kisses can melt snow faster than it can fall.

The clock is ticking down to midnight on New Year’s Eve, and all Nora Hart and Miles Shephard can think about is kissing each other—even though they met just minutes before. Then, as fast as Miles enters Nora’s life, he’s gone . . . and she never even gets the name of the man she thinks might just be “the one.” One year later, Nora and Miles are reunited. The chemistry between them is just as strong as they remember. But Miles broke her heart once before—and this time around, Nora’s not sure whether she can give love a second chance.

Novella Review: Roman Holiday 2 Hitched by Ruthie Knox



Roman Holiday 2: Hitched: A Loveswept Contemporary Romance

May Contain Spoilers


This episode of Roman Holiday is a blast.  Ashley has convinced (tricked) Roman to help her evacuate with her things from the approaching hurricane.  What she neglects to tell him is that her “things” means the ancient Airstream trailer that her grandmother left for her.  She also fails to mention that her evacuation plans involve driving hundreds of miles to her friend’s house.  She is convinced that her friend can convince Roman that his plan to tear down the resort community is a terrible idea. Ashley is so fortunate that Roman is a man of his word, and that after learning he’s been played, he doesn’t just dump her and her beat up trailer on the side of the road.

Read more