Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

Review: All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue by Sophie Jordan

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was excellent! Full of emotional turmoil though, which kind of took me by surprise. I LOVE romances where the couple starts out in love, then something happens and they become bitter enemies, and the rest of the book is them going back and forth realizing that maybe they made a mistake. They are wasting all this time and energy hating each other, for all the wrong reasons, and when they finally talk about it, they realize that they can actually get along!

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: As Rich as a Rogue by Jade Lee

This morning I have an excerpt from Jade Lee’s As Rich as a Rogue, as well as chance for you to win a copy!  Isn’t the cover cute?

Excerpt As Rich as a Rogue by Jade Lee

Peter Norwood, Lord Whitly, has returned from India to woo the only woman to fire his blood, Miss Mari Powel. Unfortunately, he doesn’t realize a casual comment from him before he left cursed her with the label of Wayward Welsh and her sister as the Wild One. The nicknames have destroyed their chances for a good marriage. In this scene, he comes to ask her why she despises him so.

***

“You are an odious man,” she snapped.

And right there was what he’d come to discover. She obviously still held him in contempt, but for the life of him, he couldn’t see why.

He shifted his weight so he was sitting more fully on the table. It wasn’t a proper way to be in front of a lady, but he was trying to encourage her to feel less proper around him. They were alone. It was a lucky stroke that Lady Illston’s butler was amenable to bribery.

But far from being more casual in his presence, she tightened even more. Her hands twitched, and her brows narrowed. Clearly, she didn’t like his air of insouciance, so he relaxed even more. It was the imp in him, he was sure, but he did like vexing her.

“I have a wager with one of my oldest friends,” he began.

Read more

Review: And I Darken by Kiersten White

May Contain Spoilers

First, the setting was a delight. I am so tired of contemporaries, and dystopian settings in YA are a dime a dozen. Historical fiction set in the Ottoman Empire? It’s nice to see a book set in a time other than 1800 Europe or America – we need more variety in the stories offered by publishers, instead of cookie-cutter copies of the next ‘big’ thing.

Read more

Guest Post and Giveaway: The Virgin and the Viscount by Charis Michaels

THE VIRGIN AND THE VISCOUNT tour banner

This morning I have a guest post from Charis Michaels, author of The Virgin and the Viscount.  Be sure to enter the giveaway, too!

Crafting a Book Title with a Title:  How The Virgin and the Viscount Got Its Name

The Virgin and the Viscount was the very first romance manuscript I ever wrote, way back in 2004, twelve years before it would reach the hands of readers.

Back then, it had a working title of, A Proper Scandal.

Back then, it was not connected to another book like it is now.

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: Behind the Marquess’s Mask by Kristen McLean

 
Enter to Win a $15.00 Amazon eGift Card
 
 
BEHIND THE MARQUESS’S MASK
The Lords of Whitehall #1
Kristen McLean
Released April 30th, 2016
Young Ink Press
 
 
Even the mask of an expert spy is no defense against his own heart.
 
With a reputation as dark as his appearance, Greydon Sharpe, the Marquess of Ainsley, ought to have been the last agent assigned to the daughter of a well-respected Member of Parliament. However, when she is brutally attacked and left for dead, it becomes clear he is the only one with the skills to keep her alive. All it will take are a few lies to keep her breathing long enough to capture the villain. Then he can send her on her way. If she would only behave herself, he might be able to complete his mission before she turns his contentedly miserable life into a chaotic mess.
 
Marriage is not an option … until it is.
Read more

Spotlight & Giveaway: His Scandalous Kiss by @BarnesSophie &@TastyBookTours

 
COMING 7.26.16

 
HIS SCANDALOUS KISS
Secrets at Thorncliff Manor #3
Sophie Barnes
Releasing July 26th, 2016
Avon Books
 
 
Thorncliff Manor is the perfect setting for a masquerade ball . . . where the heart’s secret desires are about to be uncovered in this scintillating Regency romance from Sophie Barnes

Richard Heartly has exiled himself from society since the war, plotting his revenge for a terrible betrayal. A masked ball at Thorncliff Manor is intended to be a brief diversion. Instead, he encounters a fascinating young woman as entranced by the music as he is. He can’t reveal his identity to Lady Mary. But her siren song keeps drawing him back, and their clandestine meetings could be hazardous to his plan—and to her virtue . . .
Read more