Review: One for the Rogue by Charis Michaels

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

I didn’t think there was anything that set this romance apart from the other bajillion romances I have been reading lately. In fact, this one annoyed me with the emphasis that Beau had put on Emma’s V-card, and I don’t mean lady parts. I know, it is a typical trope for the women to be “virtuous” while the men “sow their wild oats”, but it does get annoying. I really do hate the double standard.

Read more

Review: When You Wish by Alexandra Ivy

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

This is a complication of the three stories in the Cresswell Sisters series.  Each of the Cresswell’s respond differently to being the daughter of the renowned jewel thief, the Devilish Dandy, and while I found each of their stories cute and unique is parts, ultimately I felt like the leading men in all 3 stories were basically the same.

Read more

Review: Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare

May Contain Spoilers

This was an absolute delight.  Dare’s writing is so effortlessly amusing that it’s difficult to break away from her books once I’ve started them.  I saved this for the weekend, and happily breezed right though it.  The characters, main and supporting, are all well drawn, with hidden depths that are slowly teased into view.  It was fun meeting up with old favorites, and Charlotte’s mother is a new gem.

Read more

Review: Waiting for an Earl Like You by Alexandra Hawkins

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny


This was a pretty enjoyable and quick read. I do not typically enjoy the whole twins thing, because I would assume that there are certain mannerisms that each twin possess that other people would pick up on. This is about Thorn, the Earl of Netherwood, and Miss Lydall, Olivia. Thorn’s twin, Gideon, and Olivia have always been close friends, and Thorn has always been a little jealous of that, and since he is the heir, he has had to act with more modesty.

Read more

Review: The Perfect Rake by Anne Gracie

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

Wow, this was delightful. The first chapter or two were a little rough to get through, gosh the grandfather is an evil bastard. But when Prudence gets herself in a funny little situation, Gideon is all too happy to let her talk herself into circles. The scene with him, Edward, Prudence(obviously), and Great Uncle Oswald at the beginning is hilarious! I read it at least 3 times because it made me giggle like a dork.

Read more

Review: If I Only Had a Duke by Lenora Bell

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

This book started out pretty good, with some cheeky letters between the Duke of Osborne, or Dalton as he likes to be called, and Lady Dorothea, also known as Thea. I was enjoying their story right along until… I am not even sure when I started to get annoyed with them! All I know is I was thinking, yeah right, a lot. Thea insists she is not trying to saddle him with marriage to her by getting them caught in a compromising position, but all she does is provoke him into compromising positions. And for the love of god, can we stop with the men who prove that they are men by kissing the girls. Yes yes we get it, you kiss so well.

Read more

Mini Review: Stormswept by Sabrina Jeffries

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really do not like when the hero of the story says he will take his wife by force. REALLY?! WHO likes that? Granted, he never did. But, still, I do not like the threat. It is stupid. I also didn’t like how quickly Juliana forgave her brothers for having Rhys impressed. Seriously? I know it’s family, but they should earn back that forgiveness, not just say it and then boom, forgiven. And what a scumbag the older brother was! Darcy was SUCH an asshole! I would have cut him out of my life. But alas, it was not my story to tell.

2 Stars

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

New York Times bestseller Sabrina Jeffries reignites a daring love affair in this intriguing tale of desire and deception—originally written as Deborah Martin and newly revised for today’s audience.
The first wedding night that Lady Juliana St. Albans spent with the dark and daring Rhys Vaughan was intoxicating, the heady culmination of her new husband’s driving hunger and her own awakened sensuality. When he mysteriously disappeared the next morning, she waited for him in hope and desperation. And when he was finally proclaimed dead in a shipwreck, she bitterly mourned the loss of her love.
The second wedding night that Juliana spent with Rhys Vaughan was six years later, after he returned to claim her just as she was about to wed another. This Rhys was different—bolder, harder, and convinced that she’d betrayed him. Only their blazing passion remains from their years apart. But is it enough to light their way through the maze of mystery, menace, and mistrust—to the love they once shared and would have to find again?

Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.