Review: Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

May Contain Spoilers

While I am still a huge fan of this series, I was not totally engaged in this installment. I just don’t find the Psy characters as interesting as the Changelings. I am partial to the wolves, but the cats are a favorite, too. Thankfully there were cameos from characters from previous books – it’s always fun catching up with them.

The Forgotten played a huge role here. I am warming up, gradually, to them. Their talents are more diverse and compelling than those of the pure blooded Psy. I can hardly wait until more of their abilities are put on display.

Read more

Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

Mini Review: The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz

 

May Contain Spoilers


The Rains is a cross between Charlie Higson’s The Enemy and War of the Worlds. It was not quite the “zombie” tale I was expecting, but the engaging narrative did drag me into the story. It’s a creepy, fast-paced horror story with emotionless monsters whose highest directive is to capture any kids who have escaped their evil clutches.

After an asteroid crashes into Chance and Patrick’s small farming community, it’s the adults against the kids as anyone over 18 is turned into a mindless drone. Overall a fun, but ultimately forgettable, read, barring the annoying cliffhanger.

Grade: C+

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

The first YA page-turner from New York Times bestselling author Gregg Hurwitz
In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek’s Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.
Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen–and Patrick’s birthday is only a few days away.
Determined to save Patrick’s life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites–and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity’s only hope for salvation.

Review: All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue by Sophie Jordan

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was excellent! Full of emotional turmoil though, which kind of took me by surprise. I LOVE romances where the couple starts out in love, then something happens and they become bitter enemies, and the rest of the book is them going back and forth realizing that maybe they made a mistake. They are wasting all this time and energy hating each other, for all the wrong reasons, and when they finally talk about it, they realize that they can actually get along!

Read more

Review: Bride by Royal Decree by Caitlin Crews

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really wish I could rate this 3.5 stars.

Anyways, to the meat of this. I would have rated 4 stars but I just did NOT like Reza or Maggy all that much. First off, Reza is trying to hard to be a cold, calculating, uncaring king because he does not want to be his father. Ok, I get that. You want to be better, but that doesn’t mean you get to be a fucking prick.

Read more

State of the Blog and New Reviewer

I have been on an extended hiatus from my usual blogging activities.  After my mom passed away last year, I lost the drive to keep up any kind of posting schedule, and then Real Life got in the way.  Work has been very busy, and Pokemon Go took up a lot of my time, but with the colder weather blowing in, it’s not as appealing to go out and hunt for virtual monsters right now.  I have been reading the entire time, as well as posting my reviews on Goodreads, so if you want to see what I’ve been reading and not posting about, check it out here.  I’m hoping to have a regular posting schedule by the beginning of the year, but keep an eye out for occasional reviews until then.  We are spending part of the holiday season at Disney World, so things aren’t going to be regular until we get back.

Read more

Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

 

In a Nutshell –

I  loved all of the animals, but the humans didn’t always kept me enchanted. Willa’s emotional reversals didn’t ring true and oftentimes frustrated me. I did enjoy the banter between the protagonists, and Pita’s disdain for Keane constantly amused. While this didn’t keep me completely engaged from cover to cover, it was a cute diversion from real life stresses.

Longer take –

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: Winner Takes All by Erin Kern

WINNER TAKES ALL BANNER

ULTIMATE COURAGE Release Day Blitz Assets

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Winner Takes All

Author: Erin Kern

Series: A Champion Valley Series

On Sale: August 30, 2016

Publisher: Forever

Formats: Mass Market & eBook

Price: $6.99 USD (MM) / $6.99 USD (eBook)

Add to Goodreads

Money. Fame. Endorsements. Blake Carpenter had it all—before his professional football career spiraled out of control. Determined to rebuild his life, he takes on coaching the high school team in his Colorado hometown. Despite a few fumbles, Blake knows he can lead these boys to victory. As long as he can keep his eyes on the prize and off the team’s distractingly gorgeous physical therapist.

Annabelle Turner knows all about the scandal that cost Blake his NFL career, and she’ll be damned if she’s going to let his mistakes hurt her team. What she doesn’t count on is the intense attraction that turns every heated run-in they have into a wildly erotic competition. Point by point, play by play, kiss by kiss, they try to keep things professional for the good of the team. But when the score is this close—and the passion this fierce—it’s anybody’s game . . .

Read more