Interview and Giveaway: Chelsey Krause, Author of Can’t Always Get What You Want

Please give Chelsey Krause a warm welcome to the virtual offices!

[Manga Maniac Cafe]  Good morning, Chelsey! Describe yourself in five words or less.

Eclectic. Funny. Organized. Creative. Capable.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about your book?

What if you found “the one,” and then lost him?

This story is about Sophie, an acute care nurse who loves the Rolling Stones. When her best friend bails on their plans to go to a concert together, Sophie ends up with an extra ticket, and (begrudgingly) gets stuck on a blind date.

Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. Now that he’s gone, Sophie finds herself in a life she never expected. 

As she realizes she’s falling for Brett, Sophie’s unresolved feelings for her first love resurface, and she has to choose between a life she thought she wanted, and the one she really needs.

I think of it as “P.S. I Love You” meets “Scrubs (TV series)” with a Rolling Stones sound track ?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

This book was inspired by merging three separate ideas:

  1. A question: What if you found the one, and then lost him?

  2. A story: How my husband and I met.

  3. A song: My husband often singing the chorus of “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” by the Rolling Stones.

Let me explain in further detail:

  1. This idea kept me up at night. There’d I’d be at 2 AM, staring up at the ceiling, I would have these visions of a young man and woman in love, and him dying of cancer. I didn’t know their names yet, or what type of cancer he had, or any other details. But I could feel a grief so powerful, so heart wrenching, that I’d literally ache for them.

I don’t know where this couple came from, but one night they just showed up in my thoughts, and I wondered what their backstory must be, and what happens to the girl after her one true love dies.

Then, I started reimagining my own life experiences (like giving Sophie a nursing career, like me), stories I’ve heard, or inventing new ones, and making it mesh with my “vision” until I had a solid story.

  1. My husband and I met in an unusual way (a blind date that I arranged myself), and I’ve always thought it would make a great scene in a book.

I changed the details a lot (the venue, the time of year, the band, the circumstances of how she ended up with an extra concert ticket), but Brett and Sophie meet in a very similar way that my husband and I met.

This may interest you… The scene where Sophie uses lipstick to write her phone number on an old receipt to give to the guy just standing there is REAL! I really did that, while I was waiting for mystery man (aka my future husband) to show up for our blind date. I didn’t originally put it in the manuscript, but a dear friend of mine who knows my “how we met story” suggested I put it in there.

  1. My husband will often (jokingly) sing the chorus of “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” when I say I want to do such and such, or go here and there. One day when he was singing this, the two above ideas merged with this one, and it all clicked in my head. The girl grieving for her first love would someday meet a new man on a blind date. She’d learn that you don’t always get what you want, but sometimes you get what you need.

And that’s that!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

The flirtatious banter! It was SO fun to write. Ooh, and the awkward hospital scenes (which are based somewhat on my experiences as a nurse). I’d think about situations I’ve been in, and then ask myself, “How could that situation have been worse?”

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What gave you the most trouble with this story?

Coming up with a new career for Sophie. I wanted to give her a fulfilling job that would draw from her nursing back ground, and just couldn’t come up with a solution. I finally came up with something I loved after sitting down with a pen and paper, and drawing an idea web. The sort of thing they get you to do in fourth grade. Who knew something so simple could give me the answer I’d been anguishing over for months? lol

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you had a theme song, what would it be?

A toss-up between “Roar” by Katy Perry and “Raise a Little Hell” by Trooper. Such empowering messages!!!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name one thing you won’t leave home without.

Lip gloss.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name three things on your desk right now.

  1. Eiffel tower figurine that my best friend brought back from Paris for me

  2. Toothbrush holder that I keep pens and scissors in

  3. A pile of notebooks, receipts, and index cards that have various bits of dialogue and scene ideas scribbled on them for the next book I’m working on ?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you could trade places with anyone for just one day, who would you be?

No one, to be honest! At times there are places I’d rather be (ex. somewhere warm and sunny, rather than shoveling my driveway in -40 degree weather), or things I’d rather be doing (ex. Sitting in Starbucks, rather than folding laundry). But in all honesty? I’m completely happy being me. I wouldn’t want to trade my life with anyone else (even for a day).

I admire the attitude Salvador Dali had:

“Each morning when I awake, I experience again a supreme pleasure: that of being Salvador Dali.”
? Salvador Dalí

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are some books that you enjoyed recently?

Some Girls Do by Clodagh Murphy

  • I discovered this book earlier this year, and I love it to bits. If you enjoy love stories with a bit of an edge, and a lot of humor, then I recommend “Some Girls Do.” I’ve read it twice this year!

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

  • Emma Donoghue writes with such stunning clarity. I could literally feel what it was like to be a burlesque dancer, living in San Francisco in 1876, during the small pox epidemic.

Imperfectly Criminal by Mary Frame

  • This is the second book in Mary Frame’s “Imperfect” series and I could hardly put it down. I laughed, I cried, and marvelled at how Frame managed to create a romantic whodunnit story that was both funny and heartfelt.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

All sorts of things! Although lately, my spare time has been used up listening to “Jay and Silent Bob Get Old” podcasts, and frittering time away on Pinterest ?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How can readers connect with you?

Readers can email me directly at chelsey@chelseykrause.com

Or, they can connect with me on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChelseyKrauseAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8583948.Chelsey_Krause

Twitter: https://twitter.com/chachack2

I check all of my social media often, so feel free send me a message! I’ll also post updates on my Facebook and Twitter pages about upcoming book sales, guest posts, free excerpts, etc. so be sure to subscribe!

Can’t Always Get What You Want

By: Chelsey Krause

Releasing January 13th, 2015

Loveswept

Blurb

Fans of Ruthie Knox, Rachel Gibson, and Molly O’Keefe will love this deeply romantic and uplifting debut novel about losing everything you thought you wanted—and getting exactly what you need.

Sophie Richards has been looking forward to a much-needed girls’ night out: a Rolling Stones tribute-band concert, a few drinks, a distraction from her grueling nursing shifts in acute care. But when her best friend bails, Sophie gets stuck with a blind date.

Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. In an instant, her whole life changed, and she forgot all about happily ever after.

But as she gets to know Brett, Sophie starts to wonder about the future for the first time. With a broken heart still clouding her mind, jumping into a new relationship feels impossible. When she’s in his arms, walking away feels even harder. Now Sophie faces an impossible choice: living in the past or choosing love in the here and now.

Link to Follow Tour: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2014/11/cant-always-get-what-you-want-by.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23256189-can-t-always-get-what-you-want?from_search=true

Buy Links Amazon | Barnes | iBooks | Kobo

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cant-Always-Get-What-Want-ebook/dp/B00NRQWAT8/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1413206012&sr=1-1-spell&keywords=cant%27t+always+get+what+you+wan

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cant-always-get-what-you-want-chelsey-krause/1120377343?ean=9781101883624

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cant-always-get-what-you-want/id921351761?mt=11

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/can-t-always-get-what-you-want

Author Info

I was born and raised in Canada, and live with my husband and two children. I’ve been a nurse since 2009. An essay I wrote on intercultural nursing has been published in a nursing anthology.

I love thrift shops, repurposing old junk and learning new belly dance moves. I can’t decide if my favorite movie is either “Bridget Jones’ Diary” or “Fight Club.”

I’ve always wanted to be a writer and in the spring of 2013, I finally sat down and wrote my first book. Now that that’s done, I’m working on my second.

I believe that the best way to become a great writer is to read.
A lot.

And then read some more.

I absolutely love books and would live at the library if they’d let me.


Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Website: http://www.chelseykrause.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChelseyKrauseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/chachack2

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8583948.Chelsey_Krause

Rafflecopter Giveaway ($25.00 Book Seller eGift Card and Loveswept Mug & Tote)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Interview and Giveaway: Chelsey Krause, Author of Can’t Always Get What You Want

  • January 5, 2015 at 9:55 pm
    Permalink

    Great interview!

    I love how you incorporated how you met your husband into your book, so sweet.

    I can’t believe release day is almost here, love this book!

    Thank you for the mention, made me giggle and blush a little 😉

  • January 6, 2015 at 1:51 pm
    Permalink

    Manga Maniac Cafe, thank you for hosting my first author interview!!!!

Comments are closed.