Interview with Lisa Ann Scott, Author of School of Charm

[Manga Maniac Cafe]  Good morning, Lisa! Describe yourself in five words or less.

[Lisa Ann Scott] Loyal, creative, introvert, risk-taker, responsible.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about School of Charm?

[Lisa Ann Scott] It’s a universal story about the challenge of fitting in while still being yourself. 11-year-old tomboy, Chip, was her Daddy’s girl, but after he dies, she doesn’t know whose girl she is. When her family moves south to live with the grandma they’ve never met, they distract themselves from their grief by entering an upcoming beauty pageant. Only, Chip’s not a pageant girl. But she finds an unusual school where she secretly trains for the pageant, hoping to show her family she belongs, too. It’s a tale filled with heart, hope, and wisps of real life magic.

[Manga Maniac Cafe]  Can you share your favorite scene?

[Lisa Ann Scott] I love the scene where the girls at the charm school find the beginnings of a friendship while playing in the mucky pond. It always feels like summer when I re-read that scene.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What gave you the most trouble with the story?

[Lisa Ann Scott] Making Grandma less mean. (Which is hard to believe because even now, she’s still a challenging character to like.)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What’s one thing you won’t leave home without?

[Lisa Ann Scott] My smartphone (Mostly so I always have a book handy to read. Love the kindle app!)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name three things on your desk right now.

[Lisa Ann Scott] A glass of Teavana strawberry cream iced tea, a hair clip (that I annoyingly take in and out all day,) a betta fish in a small tank (my cat stares at him constantly.)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you could trade places with anyone for just one day, who would you be?

[Lisa Ann Scott] My ten-year-old daughter (so I could possibly discover a way to understand and diffuse the constant drama.)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are some books that you enjoyed recently?

[Lisa Ann Scott] I’ve been reading and loving ARCs from fellow Class of 2k14 debut children’s authors: Alienated by Melissa Landers, The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holzcer, Bird by Crystal Chan. All of them are wonderful.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How can readers connect with you?

[Lisa Ann Scott] LisaAnnScott.com or Lisa Ann Scott, children’s author on facebook, LisaAnnScottMG on Twitter

About the book

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Chip has always been her daddy’s girl, so when he dies she pins her hopes on winning a beauty pageant to show her family of southern belles that she still belongs. But she’d rather be covered in mud than makeup! Can a rough-and-tumble girl ever become a beauty queen? A universal story about finding your place in the world, School of Charm explores themes of loss, family, and friendship.