Guest Post: Robin Covington, Author of His Southern Temptation

Please welcome Robin Covington to the virtual offices today!  Robin dropped by to fill us in on heroines who are nothing but trouble for the hero.  After reading her thoughts on the matter, be sure to hop to the bottom of the post and order her latest book, His Southern Temptation.

Nothing But Trouble: Heroines who kick A**

In my recent release, my heroine Taylor Elliott is strong, successful, stubborn, sexy, self-possessed —all the “s” words that spell nothing but trouble for her hero. Not only did she not follow directions but she decided to take initiative and ended up creating even more trouble for Lucky. In the end, he knew she was worth all the trouble but man, did she make him work for it.

I love a heroine who can take charge and control her own destiny. Now, some of the best heroines don’t start out that way but they grow, learn and gain the confidence to put on those Wonder Woman underoos and be awesome. And, of course, as they grow they become a case of serious heartburn for the men in their lives. Being a huge movie junkie, I thought I’d share with you some of faves:

Marge the Police Chief in Fargo: This woman was the epitome of womanly strength and you just know that her hubby was pulling his hair out knowing that she was giving it her all. I mean, how can you fail to love a woman who is 9 months pregnant who can catch a killer in between bouts of morning sickness?

Evelyn Salt in Salt: A U.S. Agent becomes a fugitive after being accused of being a Russian spy. If you doubt her kick-assery, just check out the scene of how she gets out of the CIA building with no shoes or weapons.

Lisbeth Salander in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo: What didn’t happen to this woman? Raped, minimized by society, virtually without any power, she comes back to exact justice on her abusers and to emerge as a ballsy equal with the male protagonist. She defies society with every move and a strong woman, takes on a man who is her equal and gives it as good as she gets.

Joan Wilder in Romancing the Stone: Sure, Joan doesn’t really know how to wield a weapon or hack into a computer but she steps out of her comfort zone to help her sister, takes on danger, uses her talents to make sure she is able to save her sister and seduces Michael Douglas (if you think for one minute that he’s seducing her, go watch it again)

Maggie Murdock in Love and Other Drugs: Afflicted with early onset Parkinson’s Maggie is bravery in action. She takes in her disease and also helps others with the same issues surrounding availability of affordable prescriptions and treatment. But, she does this all while being vulnerable and changing the life of her womanizing love interest until he becomes the man he’s supposed to be. Love her.

So, that’s my take on heroines who have cheering as they drive the menfolk crazy. Who would you add to the list?

Thank you, Robin!

You can order His Southern Temptation from your favorite bookseller or by clicking the links below:

About the book:

Some women are bad. Some women are a bad idea. The best ones are both…

A former Black Ops assassin, “Lucky” Landon has had more near-misses than a man should ever have. Now he’s out of that business and settling into the simple life in his small hometown. So the last thing he ever expected was to end up at gunpoint. Or that the woman holding the gun would be his best friend’s little sister and Lucky’s on-again/off-again lover.

Taylor Elliott is Trouble, and she likes it that way. And seeing Lucky again? Well, he’s been her dirty little secret for the past few years and everyone knows that secrets in a small town are almost impossible to keep. But Taylor has bigger problems on her plate. Like the local mob boss who wants her dead.

And right now the only thing standing between Trouble and disaster is a hottie named Lucky..

Here are more purchase links:

Barnes & Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/his-southern-temptation-robin-covington/1114954596?ean=9781622667048

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17608393-his-southern-temptation

Interview with Maggie Gilbert, Author of Riding on Air

Please welcome Maggie Gilbert to the virtual offices today!  Maggie is celebrating the release of Riding on Air, a YA romance set in the world of competitive riding.  Yeah!  One look at the cover and I knew I wanted to ask Maggie some questions, and she graciously agreed to stop by for a chat.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in 140 characters or less.

[Maggie Gilbert] Eclectic. And maybe heading for eccentric too :)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about Riding on Air?

[Maggie Gilbert] It’s about a teenage girl with a horse she’s devoted to and a dream she’ll do almost anything to achieve, despite some fairly significant obstacles in her way. And then a gorgeous boy she’s always ached for comes along to complicate things even further. Horses, a gorgeous boy and romance – what more could you want?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

[Maggie Gilbert] I’d planned on writing some horse books aimed at younger readers but then I started thinking about what it’s like to be a teenage girl besotted with your horse but also crushing madly on a boy. With the characters, once I knew Melissa had JRA then who she is evolved out of her illness; there were things she just couldn’t do and this shaped everything about her. When it came to William, I wanted a boy worthy of her courage and determination, and he had to be sweet but also strong. He had to be someone who will do the right thing even if that is going to cost him. And he had to be totally gorgeous, of course.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three words best describe Melissa?

[Maggie Gilbert] Resolute, self-contained, fervent

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If William had a theme song, what would it be?

[Maggie Gilbert] What Makes You Beautiful by One Direction. It sums up the way William sees Melissa, and how she makes his heart skip even though she has no idea. Not that he’d admit he’s ever even heard of that song Smile

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name one thing Melissa is never without.

[Maggie Gilbert] Hope. She goes after her dreams even when it seems impossible.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three things will you never find in William’s pockets?

[Maggie Gilbert] Money, receipts, phone. He tends to leave everything in his ute, such a boy.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is Melissa’s greatest regret?

[Maggie Gilbert]  I can’t answer that without plot spoilers!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are your greatest creative influences?

[Maggie Gilbert] Stephen King would be the biggest influence. I read everything he writes and he is the master of making the ordinary interesting, and of developing utterly believable characters. And although on the surface his stories are about monsters, underneath he’s writing about themes that resonate for me, like love, loyalty, friendship and heroism. I think all the creative works you expose yourself to – art, photos, magazines, songs, movies, books, TV series – have an impact on what you write even if you don’t realise it.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three things do you need in order to write?

[Maggie Gilbert] Coffee, laptop, time. Especially coffee – I can always make do with a pen and notebook Smile

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is the last book that you read that knocked your socks off?

[Maggie Gilbert] Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you had to pick one book that turned you on to reading, which would it be?

[Maggie Gilbert] Gosh, it’s hard to say – Mum taught me to read when I was three, so that’s a lot of books ago. An early book that sticks out though is Wild Pony by Lucy Rees. I’d read a lot of horsey books but that one blew me away. It stayed with me and I re-read it over the years.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

[Maggie Gilbert] It can vary depending on what the latest obsession is (gardening, learning cello, quilting). But there are some constants: I read as much as I can – sometimes when I really should be doing other things! I also like watching a movie or an episode of a favourite TV series. I love to run and I’m trying to get back into that. If I’m not inside at the laptop, there’s not much better than a sunny afternoon in the back yard with a good book and my dogs.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How can readers connect with you?

[Maggie Gilbert] I have a website with blog and also newly established author pages on Goodreads and Amazon or you can find me on Twitter or Facebook. I’d love it for people to pop in and say ‘Hi’.

Goodreads  http://www.goodreads.com/MaggieGilbert

Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/maggiegilbert

Twitter https://twitter.com/maggie_gilbert_

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/MaggieGilbert/617257878299778?ref=hl

Website/Blog www.maggiegilbert.com

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Thank you!

You can purchase Riding on Air from your favorite bookseller or by clicking the link below:

About the book:

For readers of Jenny Downham, John Greene and Maureen McCarthy, a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters.

What can you do when your own hands are the enemy? Hold on tight, for as long as it takes.

Melissa has secrets. Sure it’s pretty obvious she has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, but no one knows how bad it is or how many pills she takes for the pain. She’s determined to make her horse Jinx into a champion and she dreams that her childhood friend William will one day see her, rather than her condition.

So when William asks her out and Jinx is shortlisted for selection in an elite training program, it seems Melissa’s dreams have come true. But when her secrets are exposed, all those dreams come crashing down around her. Can William ever forgive her? And can she learn about letting go in time to truly ride on air when it matters most?

 

About the author:

Maggie Gilbert can’t remember a time when she didn’t want to be a writer, even when she was otherwise occupied. She’s been an executive editor, an equestrian journalist and worked with horses for the Modern Pentathlon event at the 2000 Sydney Olympics. Currently she’s an administration officer with an Agricultural Society by day and a writer of romantic stories by night—an ideal combination. She lives on a property in country NSW with her family and dogs.