Excerpt–Stolen by Shiloh Walker

Here’s an excerpt from Shiloh Walker’s Stolen, which hits stores 10/30. 

More info about the book:

This thrilling and super sexy novel from bestselling romantic suspense author Shiloh Walker will appeal to fans of Allison Brennan and Linda Howard.

Shay Morgan has stayed hidden for a long time. Living a reclusive life in Earth’s End, Alaska, she’s as far away as she can get from the trauma of her childhood and the man who hurt her long ago. But terror takes over Shay’s life yet again when an unknown stalker steals away the fragile peace she’s built for herself—targeting not only her but the one man who’s ever managed to get past the walls she’s built around herself.
Elliot Winter has lived through being falsely accused before—it ruined his military career. Now it’s happening all over again. And this time, his accuser is a twisted impostor who’s targeting his ex-girlfriend, Shay. Despite a fierce mutual attraction, Shay and Elliot broke up because Shay couldn’t let her guard down, couldn’t let Elliot in. But now they both need to trust each other to confront a psycho who seems to know all their secrets.

You can order Stolen from your favorite bookseller or by clicking the links below

This Week’s New and Notable Releases–October 22

Light week!  What’s on your must buy list?

 

The Buckhorn Legacy (Hqn) by Lori Foster (Oct 23, 2012)

The General’s Mistress by Jo Graham (Oct 23, 2012)

Million Dollar Mistake: Million Dollar Men, Book 1 by Meg Lacey (Oct 23, 2012)

 

Three Schemes and a Scandal by Maya Rodale (Oct 23, 2012)

Twelfth Night Secrets by Jane Feather (Oct 23, 2012)

City of Refuge by Kenzo Kitakata (Oct 23, 2012) 

Moonlight & Mechanicals by Cindy Spencer Pape (Oct 22, 2012)

Blood by Moonlight Anthology

My Kind of Christmas by Robyn Carr

Interview with Jane Goodger, Author of The Mad Lord’s Daughter and Giveaway!

 

Romance author Jane Goodger dropped by the virtual offices to chat about her new release, The Mad Lord’s Daughter.  And she brought along a copy of When A Duke Says I Do for one of you to win!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in 140 characters or less.

[Jane Goodger] An incessantly cheerful, incurable romantic who loves the idea of creating a world where love is true and forever.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about The Mad Lord’s Daughter?

[Jane Goodger] The Mad Lord’s Daughter is about a forbidden love that isn’t really forbidden but must maintain the façade of being forbidden to protect the heroine. It’s not as complex as it seems! Merideth is the illegitimate adopted daughter of the Earl of Braddock’s reclusive brother. When the brother dies, the Earl goes to great lengths to protect his niece’s parentage so she can marry well—even though she is not related by blood to his family. He enlists the help of John, his loyal and trustworthy son, to help Merideth navigate her first season and find her a suitable husband. To maintain the façade that Merideth and John are first cousins, they, of course, cannot marry. Which is truly tragic, because the two fall madly in love with each other.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

[Jane Goodger] Through my research on illegitimacy, I found that society in the 1800s was extremely intolerant of illegitimacy—far more than most romance novels depict. Most of my stories begin with the hero, but this book started with my heroine. I thought, “What if a young woman had been completely isolated from society, and then was thrust into her first season totally unprepared?” Merideth at first was a fleeting thought in When A Duke Says I Do. She was simply a means to bring two characters from that first book in the series together, but then she became the focus of The Mad Lord’s Daughter. I’m so glad she did, because she is one of my favorite heroines!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three words best describe Melissa?

[Jane Goodger] Naïve, kind, cheerful.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are three things Melissa would never have in her boudoir?

[Jane Goodger] A cat, mendacity, or a man other than John.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If John had a theme song, what would it be?

[Jane Goodger] “She’s Got a Way” by Billy Joel

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is John’s most prized possession?

[Jane Goodger] His relationship with his father.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are your greatest creative influences?

[Jane Goodger] That’s a tough one. I really don’t know where all this stuff comes from! Maybe genes passed on from my Mom?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three things do you need in order to write?

[Jane Goodger] Time. Coffee. That’s it!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is the last book that you read that knocked your socks off?

[Jane Goodger] To Love a Thief by Julie Ann Long.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you had to pick one book that turned you on to reading, which would it be?

[Jane Goodger] The Secret Garden was the book I read as a kid that introduced me to the excitement of the written word. I loved the idea of being transported to another world and another time. My mother found the book—an American first edition—left behind in a house she moved into as a little girl. She found it magical and shared it with me when I was old enough to read it. I thought it was just as magical.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

[Jane Goodger] I’m extremely busy. I have a part-time job and an editing business, plus three kids, a husband, a cat and a dog. If I can squeeze in a half hour for myself, I grab my Kindle Fire and read.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How can readers connect with you?

[Jane Goodger] My website is best: www.janegoodger.com. I’m also on Face book, but don’t spend too much time there. I don’t know how people find the time for all that updating!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Thank you!

You can order The Mad Lord’s Daughter from your favorite bookseller or by clicking the widget below.

 

 

 

GIVEAWAY TIME!

Ready for your chance to win a copy of When A Duke Says I Do?  Just fill out the widget below.  Earn extra entries for following. US shipping addresses only, please.

a Rafflecopter giveaway