Mini Review: Stormswept by Sabrina Jeffries

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really do not like when the hero of the story says he will take his wife by force. REALLY?! WHO likes that? Granted, he never did. But, still, I do not like the threat. It is stupid. I also didn’t like how quickly Juliana forgave her brothers for having Rhys impressed. Seriously? I know it’s family, but they should earn back that forgiveness, not just say it and then boom, forgiven. And what a scumbag the older brother was! Darcy was SUCH an asshole! I would have cut him out of my life. But alas, it was not my story to tell.

2 Stars

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

New York Times bestseller Sabrina Jeffries reignites a daring love affair in this intriguing tale of desire and deception—originally written as Deborah Martin and newly revised for today’s audience.
The first wedding night that Lady Juliana St. Albans spent with the dark and daring Rhys Vaughan was intoxicating, the heady culmination of her new husband’s driving hunger and her own awakened sensuality. When he mysteriously disappeared the next morning, she waited for him in hope and desperation. And when he was finally proclaimed dead in a shipwreck, she bitterly mourned the loss of her love.
The second wedding night that Juliana spent with Rhys Vaughan was six years later, after he returned to claim her just as she was about to wed another. This Rhys was different—bolder, harder, and convinced that she’d betrayed him. Only their blazing passion remains from their years apart. But is it enough to light their way through the maze of mystery, menace, and mistrust—to the love they once shared and would have to find again?

Review: Until November by Aurora Rose Reynolds

May Contain Spoilers

This was a free book I found through the Shameless Book Club on Facebook, so I knew it was going to be a little smutty. That was fine with me, I am currently looking for books that are more fluffy and less serious anyways. This book was kind of cute, but I don’t know how I feel about Asher… He is a strange character. One moment he is possessive and extremely asshole-y, and the next he thinks that by being cute he can get away with it, and November lets him. Now, I am not saying that he was all bad, or that she was a total pushover. But this is definitely the kind of book where there is a dominant male character, and the female is submissive, but not in a bdsm sort of way. He was a very alpha male, and some people really like that. I like it to be more equal.

Read more

Review: Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

May Contain Spoilers

While I am still a huge fan of this series, I was not totally engaged in this installment. I just don’t find the Psy characters as interesting as the Changelings. I am partial to the wolves, but the cats are a favorite, too. Thankfully there were cameos from characters from previous books – it’s always fun catching up with them.

The Forgotten played a huge role here. I am warming up, gradually, to them. Their talents are more diverse and compelling than those of the pure blooded Psy. I can hardly wait until more of their abilities are put on display.

Read more

Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

Review: All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue by Sophie Jordan

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was excellent! Full of emotional turmoil though, which kind of took me by surprise. I LOVE romances where the couple starts out in love, then something happens and they become bitter enemies, and the rest of the book is them going back and forth realizing that maybe they made a mistake. They are wasting all this time and energy hating each other, for all the wrong reasons, and when they finally talk about it, they realize that they can actually get along!

Read more

Review: Bride by Royal Decree by Caitlin Crews

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really wish I could rate this 3.5 stars.

Anyways, to the meat of this. I would have rated 4 stars but I just did NOT like Reza or Maggy all that much. First off, Reza is trying to hard to be a cold, calculating, uncaring king because he does not want to be his father. Ok, I get that. You want to be better, but that doesn’t mean you get to be a fucking prick.

Read more

Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

 

In a Nutshell –

I  loved all of the animals, but the humans didn’t always kept me enchanted. Willa’s emotional reversals didn’t ring true and oftentimes frustrated me. I did enjoy the banter between the protagonists, and Pita’s disdain for Keane constantly amused. While this didn’t keep me completely engaged from cover to cover, it was a cute diversion from real life stresses.

Longer take –

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: Winner Takes All by Erin Kern

WINNER TAKES ALL BANNER

ULTIMATE COURAGE Release Day Blitz Assets

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Winner Takes All

Author: Erin Kern

Series: A Champion Valley Series

On Sale: August 30, 2016

Publisher: Forever

Formats: Mass Market & eBook

Price: $6.99 USD (MM) / $6.99 USD (eBook)

Add to Goodreads

Money. Fame. Endorsements. Blake Carpenter had it all—before his professional football career spiraled out of control. Determined to rebuild his life, he takes on coaching the high school team in his Colorado hometown. Despite a few fumbles, Blake knows he can lead these boys to victory. As long as he can keep his eyes on the prize and off the team’s distractingly gorgeous physical therapist.

Annabelle Turner knows all about the scandal that cost Blake his NFL career, and she’ll be damned if she’s going to let his mistakes hurt her team. What she doesn’t count on is the intense attraction that turns every heated run-in they have into a wildly erotic competition. Point by point, play by play, kiss by kiss, they try to keep things professional for the good of the team. But when the score is this close—and the passion this fierce—it’s anybody’s game . . .

Read more