Review: Rodeo Father by Mary Sullivan

May Contain Spoilers

I had a few problems with Rodeo Father, but most of them stemmed from the supporting cast.  Rachel, pregnant and struggling to provide for her family, was recently widowed.  Her husband, a reckless man with little skill keeping a roof over his growing family, died in a motorcycle accident.  With few options open to her, Rachel was forced to move in with her mother, a woman with hardly a nurturing bone in her body.  When a stranger purchases the house that Rachel has been saving every penny for the down payment, it doesn’t seem that life can get any more unfair.  Travis, a man who has no intentions of setting down roots anywhere, purchased the house for his sister and her young sons.

Read more

Review: The Perfect Rake by Anne Gracie

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

Wow, this was delightful. The first chapter or two were a little rough to get through, gosh the grandfather is an evil bastard. But when Prudence gets herself in a funny little situation, Gideon is all too happy to let her talk herself into circles. The scene with him, Edward, Prudence(obviously), and Great Uncle Oswald at the beginning is hilarious! I read it at least 3 times because it made me giggle like a dork.

Read more

Review: If I Only Had a Duke by Lenora Bell

May Contain Spoilers

Review by Poo Penny

This book started out pretty good, with some cheeky letters between the Duke of Osborne, or Dalton as he likes to be called, and Lady Dorothea, also known as Thea. I was enjoying their story right along until… I am not even sure when I started to get annoyed with them! All I know is I was thinking, yeah right, a lot. Thea insists she is not trying to saddle him with marriage to her by getting them caught in a compromising position, but all she does is provoke him into compromising positions. And for the love of god, can we stop with the men who prove that they are men by kissing the girls. Yes yes we get it, you kiss so well.

Read more

Review: The Christmas Triplets by Tanya Michaels

 

May Contain Spoilers

This is the ultimate holiday, feel good romance. Megan is working hard trying to support her young triplets, and Will, her neighbor, has just been saddled with an infant. Megan disapproves of Will’s love’em and leave’em lifestyle, but all Will wanted was to marry his high school sweetheart and live happily ever after. Too bad she dumped him right before the wedding. Megan has her share of heartbreak, too, having been married to a serial cheater.

Read more

Mini Review: Stormswept by Sabrina Jeffries

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really do not like when the hero of the story says he will take his wife by force. REALLY?! WHO likes that? Granted, he never did. But, still, I do not like the threat. It is stupid. I also didn’t like how quickly Juliana forgave her brothers for having Rhys impressed. Seriously? I know it’s family, but they should earn back that forgiveness, not just say it and then boom, forgiven. And what a scumbag the older brother was! Darcy was SUCH an asshole! I would have cut him out of my life. But alas, it was not my story to tell.

2 Stars

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

New York Times bestseller Sabrina Jeffries reignites a daring love affair in this intriguing tale of desire and deception—originally written as Deborah Martin and newly revised for today’s audience.
The first wedding night that Lady Juliana St. Albans spent with the dark and daring Rhys Vaughan was intoxicating, the heady culmination of her new husband’s driving hunger and her own awakened sensuality. When he mysteriously disappeared the next morning, she waited for him in hope and desperation. And when he was finally proclaimed dead in a shipwreck, she bitterly mourned the loss of her love.
The second wedding night that Juliana spent with Rhys Vaughan was six years later, after he returned to claim her just as she was about to wed another. This Rhys was different—bolder, harder, and convinced that she’d betrayed him. Only their blazing passion remains from their years apart. But is it enough to light their way through the maze of mystery, menace, and mistrust—to the love they once shared and would have to find again?

Review: Until November by Aurora Rose Reynolds

May Contain Spoilers

This was a free book I found through the Shameless Book Club on Facebook, so I knew it was going to be a little smutty. That was fine with me, I am currently looking for books that are more fluffy and less serious anyways. This book was kind of cute, but I don’t know how I feel about Asher… He is a strange character. One moment he is possessive and extremely asshole-y, and the next he thinks that by being cute he can get away with it, and November lets him. Now, I am not saying that he was all bad, or that she was a total pushover. But this is definitely the kind of book where there is a dominant male character, and the female is submissive, but not in a bdsm sort of way. He was a very alpha male, and some people really like that. I like it to be more equal.

Read more

Review: Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

May Contain Spoilers

While I am still a huge fan of this series, I was not totally engaged in this installment. I just don’t find the Psy characters as interesting as the Changelings. I am partial to the wolves, but the cats are a favorite, too. Thankfully there were cameos from characters from previous books – it’s always fun catching up with them.

The Forgotten played a huge role here. I am warming up, gradually, to them. Their talents are more diverse and compelling than those of the pure blooded Psy. I can hardly wait until more of their abilities are put on display.

Read more

Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.