The Sunday Post and Stacking the Shelves – The Flood Edition

 

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba of The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.  This is a weekly meme where we can share news of the week and highlight new books received.

I’m still trying to catch up from the Buckeye Morgan show.  The show is a Friday – Sunday show, with a packed schedule, and it didn’t end until about 4pm on Sunday.  Lots of early mornings and late evenings, with little time to leave the fairgrounds.  After loading up the cars on Sunday, we still had an over 4 hours drive home!  I didn’t get much reading accomplished, and because I was so tired by the end of the show, I didn’t get much squeezed in over the week either.  It took a while to recover from this fun show!

Read more

Review: Keeping Secrets by Maggie Dana

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

I always have the urge to read a horsey book right before a horse show.  I kept seeing the Timber Ridge Riders series on Amazon, and wanted to check it out, so when I had the chance to do just that, I jumped at it.  I don’t ride hunt seat, so I always find depictions of hunter shows interesting.  The horse care details were spot on, and nothing made me cringe due to inaccuracies.  I’ll tell you what did make me cringe: the behavior of Kate’s rival, Angela.  What a spoiled, selfish girl!  If I was her coach, she would have been booted from my barn.  Her casual treatment of the animals and her teammates had me boiling mad!

Read more

Review and Giveaway: Run for the Roses by Rachel Schieffelbein

 

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review:

I wanted to read Run for the Roses because the protagonist competes with her Arabian horse, and she rides saddleseat.  Do you know how many times I have read a book were the protagonist rides saddleseat?  Maybe three, and I read a ton of horse books.  Almost every book with competitive riding features hunters or jumpers, so I was stoked to read this story.  I wanted to see how closely Abigail’s preparations and challenges stacked up against mine.  Even though she competes in a different circuit because she shows Arabians and I show Morgans (and Saddlebreds), the run up to the biggest show of the year felt very familiar.  I really enjoyed Run for the Roses, and I wished that it was just a little longer.  At about 80 pages, most of the action takes place at the Youth Nationals, as Abigail is struggling to stay focused on winning what is essentially her last show.  She’s about to head off to U of M, and once she’s in college, it will be very difficult for her to be able to afford to show.

Read more

Release Day Book Blitz and Giveaway! Run For The Roses!

 
 
 
Run for the Roses
Release Date: 11/2013
by Swoon Romance
 
Summary from Goodreads:
Abigail Conrad has spent her whole life training for one goal: to win the roses at the Arabian Youth Nationals. She’s given up friends, a social life, and doesn’t have time to even think about guys — much less date!

Now that she’s headed off to college in the fall, it’s her last chance to be a Youth National Champion, and she won’t let anything distract her from that dream.

Except maybe Chase, the older brother of Abigail’s biggest rival. He’s charming, funny, and possibly Abigail’s biggest problem. How can she focus on riding when her mind keeps wandering to Chase’s green eyes and confident smile?

With her dream on the line, Abigail had better learn to fight her growing attraction to Chase, or she might end up losing the roses and the guy.
 
Read more

The Sunday Post and Stacking the Shelves–Vacation Edition!

 

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba of The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.  This is a weekly meme where we can share news of the week and highlight new books received.

We made it to OKC!  Friday was a long, long day (didn’t get to our hotel until 2am and had to be up again early!) but things have settled down and now I am just chilling, watching beautiful Morgan horses and reading.  Also enjoying the company of good friends.  Elle shows undersaddle tomorrow, and I am looking forward to seeing her and Sarah go.  Big classes and lots of competition for both of them.  Naturally, Elle chose the month of October to grow another couple of inches – like she wasn’t tall enough!!! – so she is a little awkward going with her rear a little higher than her withers.  She is now larger than Blondie, and Blondie was a big girl. 

Read more

Interview with Maggie Gilbert, Author of Riding on Air

Please welcome Maggie Gilbert to the virtual offices today!  Maggie is celebrating the release of Riding on Air, a YA romance set in the world of competitive riding.  Yeah!  One look at the cover and I knew I wanted to ask Maggie some questions, and she graciously agreed to stop by for a chat.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in 140 characters or less.

[Maggie Gilbert] Eclectic. And maybe heading for eccentric too :)

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about Riding on Air?

[Maggie Gilbert] It’s about a teenage girl with a horse she’s devoted to and a dream she’ll do almost anything to achieve, despite some fairly significant obstacles in her way. And then a gorgeous boy she’s always ached for comes along to complicate things even further. Horses, a gorgeous boy and romance – what more could you want?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

[Maggie Gilbert] I’d planned on writing some horse books aimed at younger readers but then I started thinking about what it’s like to be a teenage girl besotted with your horse but also crushing madly on a boy. With the characters, once I knew Melissa had JRA then who she is evolved out of her illness; there were things she just couldn’t do and this shaped everything about her. When it came to William, I wanted a boy worthy of her courage and determination, and he had to be sweet but also strong. He had to be someone who will do the right thing even if that is going to cost him. And he had to be totally gorgeous, of course.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three words best describe Melissa?

[Maggie Gilbert] Resolute, self-contained, fervent

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If William had a theme song, what would it be?

[Maggie Gilbert] What Makes You Beautiful by One Direction. It sums up the way William sees Melissa, and how she makes his heart skip even though she has no idea. Not that he’d admit he’s ever even heard of that song Smile

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name one thing Melissa is never without.

[Maggie Gilbert] Hope. She goes after her dreams even when it seems impossible.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three things will you never find in William’s pockets?

[Maggie Gilbert] Money, receipts, phone. He tends to leave everything in his ute, such a boy.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is Melissa’s greatest regret?

[Maggie Gilbert]  I can’t answer that without plot spoilers!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What are your greatest creative influences?

[Maggie Gilbert] Stephen King would be the biggest influence. I read everything he writes and he is the master of making the ordinary interesting, and of developing utterly believable characters. And although on the surface his stories are about monsters, underneath he’s writing about themes that resonate for me, like love, loyalty, friendship and heroism. I think all the creative works you expose yourself to – art, photos, magazines, songs, movies, books, TV series – have an impact on what you write even if you don’t realise it.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three things do you need in order to write?

[Maggie Gilbert] Coffee, laptop, time. Especially coffee – I can always make do with a pen and notebook Smile

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What is the last book that you read that knocked your socks off?

[Maggie Gilbert] Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you had to pick one book that turned you on to reading, which would it be?

[Maggie Gilbert] Gosh, it’s hard to say – Mum taught me to read when I was three, so that’s a lot of books ago. An early book that sticks out though is Wild Pony by Lucy Rees. I’d read a lot of horsey books but that one blew me away. It stayed with me and I re-read it over the years.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

[Maggie Gilbert] It can vary depending on what the latest obsession is (gardening, learning cello, quilting). But there are some constants: I read as much as I can – sometimes when I really should be doing other things! I also like watching a movie or an episode of a favourite TV series. I love to run and I’m trying to get back into that. If I’m not inside at the laptop, there’s not much better than a sunny afternoon in the back yard with a good book and my dogs.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How can readers connect with you?

[Maggie Gilbert] I have a website with blog and also newly established author pages on Goodreads and Amazon or you can find me on Twitter or Facebook. I’d love it for people to pop in and say ‘Hi’.

Goodreads  http://www.goodreads.com/MaggieGilbert

Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/maggiegilbert

Twitter https://twitter.com/maggie_gilbert_

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/MaggieGilbert/617257878299778?ref=hl

Website/Blog www.maggiegilbert.com

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Thank you!

You can purchase Riding on Air from your favorite bookseller or by clicking the link below:

About the book:

For readers of Jenny Downham, John Greene and Maureen McCarthy, a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters.

What can you do when your own hands are the enemy? Hold on tight, for as long as it takes.

Melissa has secrets. Sure it’s pretty obvious she has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, but no one knows how bad it is or how many pills she takes for the pain. She’s determined to make her horse Jinx into a champion and she dreams that her childhood friend William will one day see her, rather than her condition.

So when William asks her out and Jinx is shortlisted for selection in an elite training program, it seems Melissa’s dreams have come true. But when her secrets are exposed, all those dreams come crashing down around her. Can William ever forgive her? And can she learn about letting go in time to truly ride on air when it matters most?

 

About the author:

Maggie Gilbert can’t remember a time when she didn’t want to be a writer, even when she was otherwise occupied. She’s been an executive editor, an equestrian journalist and worked with horses for the Modern Pentathlon event at the 2000 Sydney Olympics. Currently she’s an administration officer with an Agricultural Society by day and a writer of romantic stories by night—an ideal combination. She lives on a property in country NSW with her family and dogs.