Spotlight and Giveaway–Steam and Sensibility by Kirsten Weiss

Steam and Sensibility

Sensibility Grey, #1

Genre: Steampunk Paranormal Suspense

Author: Kirsten Weiss

Print Length: 235 pages

Publisher: Misterio Press

Publication Date: March 17, 2014

ASIN: B00J2MY35A

ISBN: 0985510390

California Territory, 1848. Gold has been discovered, emptying the village of San Francisco of its male population. Steam-powered technology is still in its infancy.

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway-Quicksilver Soul by Christine D’Abo

 

About QUICKSILVER SOUL

Nicola Tesla has never needed a man to complete her life. A gifted engineer, she has always had her experiments to keep her company-or she did, before her vile boss stole them. Now she’s working at the Archives in New London, where the memories of the dead are stored. But it isn’t long before Nicola discovers she’s being watched . . . by a most intriguing, sinfully sexy man.
Archivist Emmet Dennison should be busy extracting memories from the dead. Instead he’s been asked to keep an eye on the brazen, strikingly beautiful Nicola Tesla. Soon Emmet and Nicola are shaken by an attraction neither of them wants. Yet when a nefarious man takes them hostage, Nicola and Emmet will need to rely on their attraction, and the growing bond between them, to stop a madman hellbent on destroying New London forever.

Read more

Interview with Christine D’Abo, Author of Gilded Hearts

 

 

Christine D’Abo is visiting the virtual offices to celebrate the release of Gilded Hearts. Please help her celebrate and enter for a chance to win a digital copy of her book!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in five words or less.

[Christine D’Abo] Silly, genuine, driven, obsessive, laid-back

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you had a theme song, what would it be?

Read more

Interview with Paul Crilley, Author of The Osiris Curse and Giveaway!

Please welcome Paul Crilley to the virtual offices! He’s here to tell us about his latest release The Oriris Curse.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in 140 characters or less.

[Paul Crilley] A Scotsman living in South Africa. Generally quiet, loves his kids. Passionate reader. Superhero in training. Teller of tall tales.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you tell us a little about The Osiris Curse?

[Paul Crilley] It’s the sequel to The Lazarus Machine, a steampunk mystery-adventure in the vein of Dr Who, Sherlock Holmes, Indiana Jones, and James Bond. This time round Tweed and Nighitngale are looking into the mystery of Nightingale’s missing mother, (which was touched upon in the first book). Their investigation brings them into contact with a sinister cult called the Brotherhood of Osiris, and they are forced to go undercover on the maiden voyage of the Albion, the very first luxury airship. (Tweed has to pose as a waiter, something he’s not at all happy with.) The trail takes them all the way to Egypt, where they discover that a certain mythical ‘hollow-earth’ theory might not be so mythical after all.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] How did you come up with the concept and the characters for your Tweed and Nightingale series?

[Paul Crilley] The whole thing started off as a single image I came up with about ten years ago. It was of a shivering, skinny Sherlock Holmes sitting on a rocking chair staring into the fire while Dr Watson looks on in horror. Only problem is, Holmes had been dead for ten years. It was originally going to be an straight adult book, (is that a term? Not Young Adult, is what I mean), told by Dr Watson, just like the original Holmes tales, but then I started adding more and more steampunk elements and then Nightingale appeared (originally as an antagonist), and that image morphed into what we have now.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three words best describe Tweed?

[Paul Crilley] Analytical. Arrogant. Loyal.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Name one thing Nightingale is never without.

[Paul Crilley] Her Tesla gun.

Read more

Cover Shot! The Tinker King by Tiffany Trent

Cover Shot! is a regular feature here at the Café.  I love discovering new covers, and when I find them, I like to share.  More than anything else, I am consumed with the mystery that each new discovery represents.  There is an allure to a beautiful cover.  Will the story contained under the pages live up to promise of the gorgeous cover art?

Am I the only one who thinks he looks like Keanu Reeves?  Judging by all of the flames and blinding orange chaos behind him, he’s got quite a job ahead of him.  Good luck!  We’ll see if he perseveres in February 2014

 

After Vespa, Syrus and Bayne defeated the Grue and restored order to their world, they thought their future was secure. Empress Olivia, committed to peace and equality for humans and Elementals alike, was a fair and just ruler. And the Creeping Waste had vanished for good, giving them hope for the first time.

But rebellion is brewing in the far-off city of Scientia, and dark Elementals are plotting war in the ruins of New London. When a wave of unimaginable terror threatens to destroy everything in its path, Vespa, Syrus and their friends are plunged into a new swamp of intrigue, deception and magic—and the cost of survival may be more than any of them are willing to pay.

Character Interview with Bion Donkova from Mary Wine’s A Captain and A Corset and Giveaway!

Please welcome Bion Donkova, intrepid airship captain from Mary Wine’s A Captain and A Corset.  After the interview, enter for a chance to win a copy of A Captain and A Corset!

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Describe yourself in five words or less.

[Bion Donkova] Right. Always Right. Never, ever wrong. Ms. Stevenson calls me arrogant. I believe she is ignorant of the world. But that is a given, she’s been raised with the narrow views of Victorian society.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you share a typical day in the life of Bion Donkova?

[Bion Donkova] Dedication to duty. I set a goal to become a Navigator and it is something only achieved by the best. My skills in piloting an airship must be above excellent. Security is a chief concern, so Asian fighting skills are a must and they require daily training periods. Now I have the added duty of instructing Ms. Stevenson in the arts of being a Navigator. I do not mind mentoring her but she is stubborn.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What three words come to mind when you think of Sophia?

[Bion Donkova] Stubborn, Unfairly fortunate. She encountered a Root Ball, which transformed her sight. It’s something I have been working toward for years and she stumbled upon.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What was the first thing that you noticed about her?

[Bion Donkova] Madam, that is not fit for public discussion.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] If you could change one thing you’ve done in your life, what would it be?

[Bion Donkova] Hummm, I believe that would involve the night that my good friend Sven and I went drinking at the Red Petticoat. I would decline the wager to seduce the madam who ran the upstairs establishment. Who might have guessed that so petite a woman might have leg irons secured so firmly to the sides of her bed?

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What’s one thing you won’t leave home without?

[Bion Donkova] My integrity. Honor defines a man.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] What do you like to do when you aren’t saving Sophia from the forces of evil?

[Bion Donkova] Raising eyebrow. A gentleman never kisses and tells.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Can you share your dreams for the future in five words or less.

[Bion Donkova] I could never confine a definition of my new wife to so few words. I expect mayhem but confess I have become addicted to it.

[Manga Maniac Cafe] Thank you!

Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Purchase link:

About the book:

Airship Captain Bion Donkova has devoted his life to enhancing his navigational powers. When he discovers Sophia Stevenson has inadvertently received the gift of every captain’s dreams—the rare and powerful root crystal—he is just about ready to throw her overboard.

Sophia’s not so enchanted with her newfound powers—especially when she becomes the target of a corrupt airship deadset on using her powers for evil. When Sophia goes missing, Captain Bion drops his grudge and thunders to her rescue. Once the two are free of danger, it doesn’t take long before old grudges return, tempers flare, and red-hot passion ignite