Review: Trial by Fire by Chris Cannon

May Contain Spoilers

Here is another series I love in premise, but not execution.  Bryn and her dragon friends are recovering from the attacks from the traitorous dragons.  Parts of the school have been destroyed, and many of the students have been injured.  Because a damaged dragon is a social embarrassment to the snobby blues, those students with life altering injuries are asked to stay home and be home schooled.  Bryn isn’t having any of that, so she and her grandmother plan a party to entice all the students back to campus, with mixed success. 

Read more

Review: Beyond the Night by Joss Ware

May Contain Spoilers

Dr Elliott Drake and a group of his friends have awoken after fifty years to a nightmare.  The world they knew is gone, replaced by an earth devastated by natural disasters, and overrun with horrific monsters.  Elliott has a secret; he’s gained the ability to heal, but doing so passes his patient’s illness or injury to him.  He can pass it on to the next person he touches, but the ability terrifies him.  How can he purposefully make someone else suffer from a broken bone or an infection or a terminal illness?

Read more

Interview with Katie MacAlister, Author of Dragon Soul

Please give a warm welcome to Katie MacAlister! She dropped by the virtual offices to answer a few questions.

What would readers be surprised to find out about you?

[KM]  Goodness. So many things, I would expect. Perhaps the fact that I never went to high school (but did go to college). Or that I wanted to be an astrophysicist. Or maybe that I have a bunch of very slight touches of facial blindness, dyslexia, and synesthesia. All of which makes it an adventure when writing out a check that has amounts using 4 or S (both of which are red).

Who gave you the one piece of writing advice that sticks with you to this day?

Read more

Novella Micro Review: Streaming Dawn by Steve Bein

 

May Contain Spoilers

I’ve been fighting a cold and didn’t have the energy to write a long review for this novella that takes place in Feudal Japan, so here’s a micro review.

While I enjoyed this Fated Blades novella, I did not like Kaida, the main character. She’s a shinobi, and part of the secretive Wind organization that carefully sets events in motion to control the rulers of Japan. I loved the setting, and that an old woman could be such a fearsome opponent, but I didn’t like her. Kaida is near the end of her career as an assassin, and she’s determined to avenge the death of one of her students, in direct opposition of her current assignment.

Read more

#Zombies Review: Waking Up Alive by Emma Shortt

 

Contains Spoilers!

Polly Parker has things good in deadly chaos after the zombie apocalypse.  She’s snug as a bug in a secure building in Chicago, just waiting for the wakers to die.  She occasionally ventures outside to give herself something to do, and when the mathematician runs into Tye LeBow, she turns her cushy life on end.  Letting Tye into her home, and her life, is a huge risk for Polly, one that she’s very careful about making.  The last time she tried to help someone, she was viciously assaulted, proving that the zombies aren’t the only monsters prowling the streets.

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: Of Flame and Promise by Cecy Robson

 
Enter to Win a
Cecy Robson Super Fan Prize Pack

 
OF FLAME AND PROMISE
Weird Girls #6
Cecy Robson
Releasing on January 12, 2016
Loveswept
 


Perfect for fans of Keri Arthur and Bella Forrest, this short novel kicks off a sizzling new series in the award-winning Weird Girls saga as Celia’s sister Taran fights to have it all: independence, hot romance, and enough firepower to torch an army of blood-thirsty supernaturals.

Cursed by a spell meant to destroy them, Taran Wird and her sisters instead developed unique magical talents. With the power of fire and lightning literally at her fingertips, Taran doesn’t fear much. Demons, vamps, whatever—bring ’em on! Only one thing terrifies her: commitment.

Taran is crazy about her boyfriend, Gemini, a sexy were with the incredible ability to split into two separate wolves. But after watching her sister go through heartbreak with the pack’s Alpha, Taran knows not to count on happily ever after—despite Gemini’s desire to claim her as his mate. Reluctantly, she agrees to meet his very traditional and conservative parents. Taran’s a badass with a mouth to match, and Gemini loves her for it. She’s just not positive these attributes will please Mom and Dad.

Read more

Spotlight and Giveaway: In the Company of Wolves by Paige Tyler

This December, Paige Tyler releases the third in her action-packed SWAT series, IN THE COMPANY OF WOLVES. To celebrate the release of IN THE COMPANY OF WOLVES, Paige Tyler stopped by to tell us about one of her favorite fun loving heroes in pop culture and to share an excerpt showcasing her own hero’s fun loving side!

Paige Tyler: Everyone loves reading about alpha males, right? But of course, you can’t have a single dimensional character that’s just hardcore alpha all the time. It comes off as flat or just plain irritating. Most of the time you want to let your alpha have a lighter side, just to keep things interesting. One of my favorite fun loving heroes from popular culture is Lieutenant Colonel John Sheppard!

Read more

Q&A and Giveaway: Dragon Storm by Katie MacAlister

Katie MacAlister dropped by the virtual offices to answer a few questions! Be sure to enter the giveaway, too!

Do you have any favorite book boyfriends of your own?

Oh, mercy, just line my books up and start reading off the hero names. I’ve said before that I write books for myself first, and that’s absolutely true. I love all of my heroes, and it’s only because publishers won’t let me write all the heroines as me that I bother with writing those dishy men females who are worthy of them.

Outside of my books, I was one of those girls who grew up with the hots for Sherlock Holmes. As an adult, I’ve been quite fond of several of Georgette Heyer heroes, particularly those who give in to their senses of humor (Sir Tristram from Talisman Ring, and Freddy Standen from Cotillion).

Read more