Review: The Christmas Triplets by Tanya Michaels

 

May Contain Spoilers

This is the ultimate holiday, feel good romance. Megan is working hard trying to support her young triplets, and Will, her neighbor, has just been saddled with an infant. Megan disapproves of Will’s love’em and leave’em lifestyle, but all Will wanted was to marry his high school sweetheart and live happily ever after. Too bad she dumped him right before the wedding. Megan has her share of heartbreak, too, having been married to a serial cheater.

Read more

Mini Review: Stormswept by Sabrina Jeffries

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

I really do not like when the hero of the story says he will take his wife by force. REALLY?! WHO likes that? Granted, he never did. But, still, I do not like the threat. It is stupid. I also didn’t like how quickly Juliana forgave her brothers for having Rhys impressed. Seriously? I know it’s family, but they should earn back that forgiveness, not just say it and then boom, forgiven. And what a scumbag the older brother was! Darcy was SUCH an asshole! I would have cut him out of my life. But alas, it was not my story to tell.

2 Stars

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

New York Times bestseller Sabrina Jeffries reignites a daring love affair in this intriguing tale of desire and deception—originally written as Deborah Martin and newly revised for today’s audience.
The first wedding night that Lady Juliana St. Albans spent with the dark and daring Rhys Vaughan was intoxicating, the heady culmination of her new husband’s driving hunger and her own awakened sensuality. When he mysteriously disappeared the next morning, she waited for him in hope and desperation. And when he was finally proclaimed dead in a shipwreck, she bitterly mourned the loss of her love.
The second wedding night that Juliana spent with Rhys Vaughan was six years later, after he returned to claim her just as she was about to wed another. This Rhys was different—bolder, harder, and convinced that she’d betrayed him. Only their blazing passion remains from their years apart. But is it enough to light their way through the maze of mystery, menace, and mistrust—to the love they once shared and would have to find again?

Review: Until November by Aurora Rose Reynolds

May Contain Spoilers

This was a free book I found through the Shameless Book Club on Facebook, so I knew it was going to be a little smutty. That was fine with me, I am currently looking for books that are more fluffy and less serious anyways. This book was kind of cute, but I don’t know how I feel about Asher… He is a strange character. One moment he is possessive and extremely asshole-y, and the next he thinks that by being cute he can get away with it, and November lets him. Now, I am not saying that he was all bad, or that she was a total pushover. But this is definitely the kind of book where there is a dominant male character, and the female is submissive, but not in a bdsm sort of way. He was a very alpha male, and some people really like that. I like it to be more equal.

Read more

Mini Review: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

May Contain Spoilers

4.75 stars

I love, love, love this series. The race to find the villain was engrossing, and I enjoyed meeting all of the supporting cast for this outing. And the horses. I loved the horsey bits! I would have gone with the not quite park horse, too. I can understand why some people might get bored or confused with the focus on the show horses, but I felt right at home. This has been my favorite installment of the Alpha & Omegaseries, and I can hardly wait for the next one. I love the world building, the werewolves, and how uneasily they interact with each other and the world around them.

Grade: A-

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

The Alpha and Omega novels transport readers into the realm of the werewolf, where Charles Cornick and Anna Latham embody opposite sides of the shifter personality. Now, a pleasure trip drops the couple into the middle of some bad supernatural business…

For once, mated werewolves Charles and Anna are not traveling because of Charles’s role as his father’s enforcer. This time, their trip to Arizona is purely personal, as Charles plans to buy Anna a horse for her birthday. Or at least it starts out that way…

Charles and Anna soon discover that a dangerous Fae being is on the loose, replacing human children with simulacrums. The Fae’s cold war with humanity is about to heat up—and Charles and Anna are in the cross fire.

Review: Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

May Contain Spoilers

While I am still a huge fan of this series, I was not totally engaged in this installment. I just don’t find the Psy characters as interesting as the Changelings. I am partial to the wolves, but the cats are a favorite, too. Thankfully there were cameos from characters from previous books – it’s always fun catching up with them.

The Forgotten played a huge role here. I am warming up, gradually, to them. Their talents are more diverse and compelling than those of the pure blooded Psy. I can hardly wait until more of their abilities are put on display.

Read more

Novella Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

 

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was a really cute novella! 3.5 – 4 stars

Georgie and Lucas had a fling a few years earlier, and for reasons unknown they both believe the other person did not approve of them. So, fast forward to present time in this book, and Georgie is hosting a party for her father, and looking for a letter, which is hidden among her guests. Her father sends for Lucas’s help, and voila, romance! It was a little predictable the reason for their separation, AND I could see why Georgie’s father sent for Lucas, but I did still enjoy this novella. It was a quick read, there are no gratuitous sex scenes, which get really old if you ask me, and this is a plot line that I typically enjoy in romances.

There was also a pretty funny scene with an ox, which was just ridiculous. I would recommend this if your books are getting stale and you need something quick to get you moving.

Review copy provided by publishers

About the book

The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.
At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

Mini Review: The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz

 

May Contain Spoilers


The Rains is a cross between Charlie Higson’s The Enemy and War of the Worlds. It was not quite the “zombie” tale I was expecting, but the engaging narrative did drag me into the story. It’s a creepy, fast-paced horror story with emotionless monsters whose highest directive is to capture any kids who have escaped their evil clutches.

After an asteroid crashes into Chance and Patrick’s small farming community, it’s the adults against the kids as anyone over 18 is turned into a mindless drone. Overall a fun, but ultimately forgettable, read, barring the annoying cliffhanger.

Grade: C+

Review copy obtained from my local library

About the book

The first YA page-turner from New York Times bestselling author Gregg Hurwitz
In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek’s Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.
Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen–and Patrick’s birthday is only a few days away.
Determined to save Patrick’s life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites–and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity’s only hope for salvation.

Review: All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue by Sophie Jordan

May Contain Spoilers

Review by PooPenny

This was excellent! Full of emotional turmoil though, which kind of took me by surprise. I LOVE romances where the couple starts out in love, then something happens and they become bitter enemies, and the rest of the book is them going back and forth realizing that maybe they made a mistake. They are wasting all this time and energy hating each other, for all the wrong reasons, and when they finally talk about it, they realize that they can actually get along!

Read more